Queen's Birthday Honours for key figures

Latest News

Many people well known to the biotechnology sector have been recognised in the 2016 Queen's Birthday Honours List.

CSL's Chief Scientific Officer and R&D Director, Dr Andrew Cuthbertson, was made an Officer (AO) in the General Division of the Order of Australia for his "distinguished service to medical science, particularly through the development and delivery of innovative biotherapies to assist public health, and to professional research organisations.”

A number of other people involved the medical research sector were also recognised, including investor Nicholas Callinan and Professor Doug Hilton of the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute.

Ambassador to China, Jan Adams, was awarded an AO for her advancement of Australia's diplomatic and free trade relationships. Ms Adams has played an influential role as one of Australia's leading trade negotiators over the past decade, including on issue impacting the life sciences industry, notably intellectual property.

Clinical pharmacologist and geriatrician, and former PBAC member, Professor David Le Couteur, was awarded an AO for distinguished service to medicine.

Former health minister in the Howard government, Dr Kay Patterson, was also awarded an AO for her work in the advancement of public policy and initiatives, particularly for women, and as a senior academic.

Another former minister in the Howard government, and president of Diabetes Australia, Judi Moylan, also received an AO for her promotion of the status of women and advocacy for those with diabetes. Ms Moylan was established the bipartisan Parliamentary Diabetes Support Group in 2000.