Nominations open for AusBiotech Board


Help advance Australia’s biotechnology sector - nominations are open for the AusBiotech board of directors as it seeks to elect one new director.

As the industry’s member organisation for more than 35 years, AusBiotech works for the success of Australian biotechnology by providing the largest dedicated network in the country and one of the largest in the world.

Its directors are elected to provide strategic guidance and corporate management-related policies. The board comprises up to nine members, including the CEO and managing director. Each board member is an experienced leader with extensive experience working in the Australian biotechnology industry, representing technical, commercial and policy expertise.

AusBiotech is a well-connected national network of over 3,000 members in the life sciences, including therapeutics, medical technology (devices and diagnostics), digital health, and agri-biotech sectors. It encourages nominations from all corners of its membership.

Members interested in joining the AusBiotech Board are invited to submit their nomination form with a 350-word biography and photo by 17 September 2023.

AusBiotech warmly invites those interested in this position to have a confidential conversation with AusBiotech CEO, Lorraine Chiroiu, who can bring the role ‘to life’ and answer any questions you may have.

The election outcome will be announced at the 2023 annual general meeting of AusBiotech, which will be held in person at the national AusBiotech 2023 conference in Brisbane on Thursday, 2 November (12.30pm to 1.20pm AEST) – to which all members are invited to attend.

If an election is required, the online voting and access information will be emailed to eligible members on 20 September 2023.


  • 14 August 2023: Nominations open;
  • 17 September 2023: Nominations close;
  • 20 September 2023: If an election is required, online voting and access information is emailed to members; and,
  • 13 October 2023: Closing date for online ballot.

Meet the current AusBiotech Board here.