Nominations for the 2018 Research Australia Health and Medical Research Awards are now open


Research Australia has announced that nominations are now open for the 2018 Health and Medical Research Awards.

The Awards are the pinnacle of health and medical research achievement in Australia, and we are now encouraging members to nominate individuals and organisations who have made an outstanding contribution to delivering a better quality of life and stronger economy for all Australians.

Research Australia said: “Never has it been so important to highlight the crucial role health and medical research play in all our lives, so nominate those who have made a difference and ensure they get the recognition they deserve.” 

Previous recipients of the Awards included Macquarie Group Foundation and Volvo Car Australia (Leadership in Corporate Giving); Nicola Forrest and Andrew Forrest AO (Great Australian Philanthropy Award); Prof Michael Barton OAM (Health Services Research); Connie Johnson and Sam Johnson (Advocacy); Sir Gustav Nossal, AC, CBE, FAA, FRS and Prof Sharon Lewin (The Peter Wills Medal); and more.

Nominations are now open for the following categories:

  • The Peter Wills Medal
  • Great Australian Philanthropy Award
  • Health Services Research Award
  • Leadership in Corporate Giving Award
  • Data Innovation Award
  • Research Champion Award

Key dates

Nominations open: Friday 27 April 2018
Nominations close: 9.00am Monday 23 July 2018
2018 Health and Medical Research Awards Dinner: Thursday 8 November, Sofitel Sydney Darling Harbour

Visit the Research Australia website for full information on category criteria or to submit your nomination today.

If you have any questions about the Awards process please contact