AusBiotech announces the appointment of its new board chair


The CEO and managing director of Patrys, Dr James Campbell, has been appointed the new chair of AusBiotech.

Dr Campbell has been a non-executive director of AusBiotech since 2021 and its interim chair since November last year.

Patrys is a Melbourne-based ASX-listed biotechnology company established in 2007 to develop new antibody therapies for cancer treatment. In 2016, it secured an exclusive, worldwide license from Yale University for using deoxymab antibodies as human therapeutic agents for treating and managing cancer.

Dr Campbell has nearly 30 years of international biotechnology management and leadership experience. In addition to leading Patrys, he previously served in senior executive roles with ChemGenex Pharmaceuticals, Evolve Biosystems and Invion. Dr Campbell is also currently a non-executive director of Australian company Prescient Therapeutics.

“It’s an extraordinary privilege to be appointed Chair of AusBiotech and to lead our organisation in partnership with the Board and our CEO, Rebekah Cassidy, at such a pivotal time for our members," said Dr Campbell.

“As Australia’s biotech, medtech, and diagnostics companies scale up and out, it’s crucial that AusBiotech continues to strengthen its role as the informed, leading and trusted voice of our sector. Our strategic trajectory over the coming years must be one of growth and transformation for the benefit of our members.

“With Australia continuing to modernise its economy and bring national focus to its sovereign capabilities in key industries, including life sciences, AusBiotech has the opportunity to deliver a collaborative, clear and aligned voice that supports investment attraction and commercialisation success.

“I’m grateful to my fellow Board members for their invitation to become Chair and their unanimous support. I’m looking forward to continuing to work with them, our CEO, and the dedicated AusBiotech team to achieve our goals.”

CEO Rebekah Cassidy added, “James’ expansive leadership experience combined with his hands on expertise in commercialising and licensing innovative therapies for patient benefit is of immense value as we build a strong platform for AusBiotech’s renewed strategy.

“As AusBiotech focuses on how we can collaboratively build the sector’s capabilities and capacity, Board understanding of the opportunities and challenges along the development pathway is critical.

“I’m personally grateful to James and the Board for their support over recent weeks. I’m looking forward to working closely as we lead a new way forward with our committed AusBiotech team.”

The AusBiotech Board

  • Chair: Dr James Campbell, CEO, Patrys;
  • Deputy Chair: Ms Erica Kneipp, Research Director, Human Health, CSIRO;
  • Risk and Audit Sub-Committee, Chair: Dr Megan Baldwin, Chief Innovation Officer, Opthea (ASX:OPT);
  • Remuneration and Nomination Sub-Committee, Chair Dr Dean Moss, CEO, UniQuest;
  • Dr Marthe D’Ombrain, Head of Global Research Innovation, CSL;
  • Dr Iris Depaz, Country Medical Lead & Head of Medical, Vaccines, Sanofi Australia and New Zealand;
  • Professor John Skerritt, Enterprise Professor in Health Research Impact, University of Melbourne;
  • Dr Liz Dallimore, CEO & Managing Director, Argenica Therapeutics;
  • Dell Kingsford Smith, VP, Medical Affairs, Market Access and Government Affairs, Cochlear (Board Observer); and,
  • Ms Rebekah Cassidy, CEO, AusBiotech.