New members of National Science and Technology Council

Latest News

The federal government has appointed six new scientists as board members of Australia’s peak science advisory body.

Professors Genevieve Bell, Barbara Howlett, Geordie Williamson and Debra Henly will join Professors Brian Schmidt and Ian Frazer on the recently created National Science and Technology Council.

Announcing the appointments, industry minister Karen Andrews said the members brought an impressive range of expertise to the council.

"The six new members have outstanding records in areas that show how much science and technology matters to our lives – from understanding our universe, to cutting edge artificial intelligence and productive agriculture, as well as high quality education and healthcare," said Minister Andrews.

"They will be an invaluable source of expert advice to the government on the key science and technology issues facing the nation, ensuring we receive the best independent advice possible.

"The establishment of the council further demonstrates the Morrison Government’s support for science and scientific endeavour, a commitment underlined with a $2.4 billion investment in science in the 2018-19 Budget."

Other members of the Council are Prime Minister Scott Morrison (Chair of the Council), Minister Andrews (Deputy Chair), Australia’s Chief Scientist Dr Alan Finkel AO (Executive Officer), and Dr Larry Marshall, the Chief Executive of the CSIRO.