AusBioNSW committee chair appointed, state strategy developed to drive state’s sector success


A NSW-focused strategy has been launched by AusBioNSW, to be led together with the newly appointed AusBioNSW Leadership Committee Chair Lis Boyce, Piper Alderman.

AusBioNSW, the leading life sciences organisation for NSW, has formalised its strategy for the state, with a focus on connecting industry with local policymakers and enhancing connectivity and collaboration.

Since the appointment of Dr Robyn Lindner as General Manager, AusBioNSW, in July this year, AusBioNSW has focused on meeting with representatives across NSW’s life sciences ecosystem to better understand the local challenges and opportunities facing members. These sector insights have informed the refreshed strategy for AusBioNSW, which includes five key goals.

As AusBioNSW looks to implement its strategy, it will focus on prioritising opportunities to connect industry with state government, enhancing networking within the sector, with a focus on delivering education and learning platforms, and working collaboratively across the sector to support ecosystem growth and success within the state. AusBioNSW intends to launch an Expression of Interest in the new year for NSW-focused members interested in supporting these activities.

AusBioNSW was established in March 2022 to foster local connections and promote NSW organisations doing business in and with the local, national, and global life sciences economy.

Backed by Australia’s life sciences organisation AusBiotech, AusBioNSW is uniquely placed to deliver locally tailored programmes and services whilst leveraging AusBiotech's national advocacy activities, membership services, events, and networks.

AusBiotech is also pleased to announce the appointment of Lis Boyce, Partner, Piper Alderman, as the incoming Chair of the AusBioNSW Leadership Committee.

The AusBioNSW Leadership Committee has been led by Graham McLean, Chair, Universal Biosensors Inc (ASX:UBI) throughout 2023, who will now step down.

Graham McLean, departing Chair, AusBioNSW Leadership Committee says, “It has been a privilege to lead the Leadership Committee, working alongside passionate industry leaders in New South Wales who provide their guidance, advice, and motivation to help advance the industry forward.

“I am thrilled to be handing over the role of Committee Chair to Lis Boyce, who has been an enthusiastic advocate for industry and an active contributor within the NSW Leadership Committee.”

Lis Boyce, incoming Chair, AusBioNSW Leadership Committee says, “I am honoured to take on the role of Leadership Committee Chair as AusBioNSW enters the next phase of implementing an industry-driven strategy to support life sciences success in NSW.  I look forward to working with NSW General Manager Robyn Lindner, the rest of the NSW Leadership Committee and the wider AusBiotech organisation as we continue to serve the NSW life sciences community.”

The AusBioNSW Leadership Committee currently includes:

  • Lis Boyce, Partner, Piper Alderman (Chair)
  • Dr Peter Brown, Senior Associate, Griffith Hack
  • Leah Goodman, Strategic Advisor, Biointelect
  • Laura Issa, Integrated Medicines Partner, Roche Australia
  • Dr Chris Marquis, Director of the Recombinant Products Facility, University of NSW
  • Anita van der Meer, Chief Innovation Officer, Ingham Institute
  • Prof Brett Neilan, Head of School Environmental and Life Sciences, The University of Newcastle, Knowledge Exchange and Enterprise (KEE)
  • Dr Gavin Recchia, Partner, Davies Collison Cave
  • Professor Alison Todd, Chief Scientific Officer, SpeeDx Pty Ltd

AusBioNSW and its Leadership Committee look forward to celebrating a year of successes at the AusBiotech, ARCS and BioNSW NSW End-of-Year Function 2023 on 7 December. Members are invited to register for the event here.