Clinical trials sector gathers to celebrate international day


For the third year, AusBiotech will join a sectoral gathering of organisations supporting clinical trials (on 16 May 2018) to celebrate Australian leadership and excellence in clinical trials and to mark International Clinical Trials (CT) Day.

International CT Day is celebrated around the world on or near the 20 May to commemorate the day when James Lind commenced what is recognised as the first-ever randomised clinical trial in scurvy in 1747, laying the foundations for modern clinical research.

Together with event partners The Australian Clinical Trials Alliance (ACTA), the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) MTPConnect, Bellberry Limited, Medicines Australia - and supported by AusBiotech, MTAA and Research Australia - you are invited to join in and pay tribute to the remarkable Australians who make groundbreaking clinical trials possible.

As part of this national tribute event, the Hon. Greg Hunt MP will present Australia's premier awards recognising outstanding achievements in investigator-initiated clinical trials - the ACTA Trial of the Year Awards.

CTs have an important role to play in Australia’s economy, healthcare and social fabric, with benefits far beyond helping develop new treatments. About 2,000 Australians take part in CTs each year. They assist in the improvement of the healthcare system, providing early access to unapproved treatments, as well as providing valuable economic activity and providing high-level Australian jobs in science and research.

This year will also see the launch of a new Australian initiative, ‘Clinical Trials: Impact & Quality (CT:IQ)’.

CT:IQ's mission is “to develop and implement recommendations that will improve the impact, quality and efficiency of clinical trials, leading to more rapid, lower cost and higher quality evaluation of healthcare interventions in Australia”. Come along to the inaugural CT:IQ Symposium and hear about how this collaborative initiative will help shape the future of clinical trials in Australia.

The Ceremony will be held on Wednesday 16 May 2018, 10.00am – 1.30pm at the Royal Melbourne Hospital. Free registration is available while seats remain: register here.