AusBiotech appoints new Director

Latest News

AusBiotech has announced a change in Board Directors, with CSL Limited maintaining a presence as Dr Andrea Douglas, Senior Vice President Organisation Transformation and External Affairs completes her tenure and Dr Serge Scrofani, Vice President, Strategy & Corporate Development is elected to the Board. Ms Michelle Burke was elected as Deputy Chair of the Board of Directors.

Dr Serge Scrofani brings to AusBiotech a global approach to Australian life sciences.

Dr Scrofani is the Vice President, Strategy & Corporate Development, at CSL Limited’s global headquarters in Parkville, Victoria. He is responsible for evaluating, negotiating and closing on global strategic growth opportunities through mergers and acquisitions. His strong interest in the Asia-Pacific biotech sector has also enabled him to take a lead role in defining CSL’s growth strategy for China and other emerging markets.

He has held various roles at CSL both locally and internationally, including as Global Head of Business Development for CSL’s largest subsidiary, CSL Behring. Prior to this, he joined Zenyth (formerly Amrad) in 1998 and held positions in both Research and Business Development before its acquisition by CSL in 2006.

Serge has a PhD in Structural Biology from La Trobe University and undertook postdoctoral research studies at The University of Melbourne before completing a Fulbright postdoctoral fellowship at The Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, California. He holds an MBA from The Melbourne Business School and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Serge also serves on Board committees at the Burnet Institute.

AusBiotech Chair, Ms Julie Phillips said: “We are delighted to welcome Dr Serge Scrofani to the AusBiotech Board. His experience in big pharma and in growth markets, including China, will help us identify more international opportunities for AusBiotech members.”

The AusBiotech AGM also marked the departure of Dr Andrea Douglas, who has served her full six years on the AusBiotech Board after joining in November 2013. The Board extends its sincere thanks to Andrea for her valuable contribution and commitment to the Board and to the Sector.

The current Board includes:

Ms Julie Phillips, Chairman, and CEO and Executive Director, BioDiem
Ms Michelle Burke, Deputy Chairman, and Principal and Director, Indigo Advisory
Ms Lorraine Chiroiu, CEO, AusBiotech
Prof. Jan Tennent, CEO, BioMedical Research Victoria
Mr Barry Thomas, Director, Cook Medical Asia Pacific & Vice President, Cook Inc., Cook Medical/Cook Inc.
Mr Serg Duchini, Partner Global Investment and Innovation Incentives (Gi³)/Co. Director, Deloitte Tax Services Pty Ltd
Dr Megan Baldwin, Managing Director and CEO, Opthea Limited
Dr Dean Moss, CEO, UniQuest
Dr Serge Scrofani, Vice President, Strategy & Corporate Development, CSL Limited